Tuesday, March 16, 2010

SKJ for ALA in Second Life!



I support Sara Kelly Johns for President of ALA. I've met her, talked to her, read her webpage, and I think she has what it takes to represent us Librarians vigorously and nationally. And its time we had a school-based librarian in charge of the ALA. It's been a few years (how many? don't know...Bueller? Anyone!?) .....Seriously though, I really think she can close the gap between ALA-AASL and ISTE-SIGMS...she *wants* to work together! That's progress!

Come hear her speak tonight! 8pm EST or 5pm SLT
Get a FREE Tophat in-world at my factory & public house Red's Revenge in New Babbage

Visit her official website: Vote SKJ for ALA!



Quoting from a message from Lisa Perez to all members of Media Specialists SIG on ISTE Community!

Make plans to join your colleagues on Tuesday, March 16th at 8pm
ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT for a very special event, “A Chat with Sara
Kelly Johns”. Sara is a candidate in the election for ALA President
and she will speak to librarians about her platform and her vision for
ALA. Just as voting opens, this will be your opportunity to inform
yourself and share your priorities. Join us at ALA Mainstage: SLURL or IM Elaine Tulip (or Redgrrl Llewellyn!) for a teleport.

If you are new to Second Life, set up an account to join us:
1. Go to the Second Life website at several days in advance to set
up your free basic account.
2. Verify that your computer and connectivity meets the systems
requirements
.
3. Click on the orange “Get Started!” button. Go through the
subsequent screens to create your avatar account.
4. Download and install the Second Life viewer software
5. Open the software and log into Second Life using your avatar first
name, last name, and password. Watch your avatar “be born”. Complete
the orientation activities to learn about how to communicate, move,
search, and edit your appearance.
6. When finished, search “Places” for locations such as ISTE or the
American Library Association. Teleport to a favorite location,
explore, and become acquainted with Second Life. (When searching, make
sure the “search mature places” square is checked.)
7. Fifteen minutes prior to the scheduled meeting, log on and IM
Elaine Tulip for a teleport to the meeting location or use provided
SLURL.


Visit Media Specialists SIG

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...